Rachael Brennan has been working in the insurance industry since 2006 when she began working as a licensed insurance representative for 21st Century Insurance, during which time she earned her Property and Casualty license in all 50 states. After several years she expanded her insurance expertise, earning her license in Health and AD&D insurance as well. She has worked for small health in...

Full Bio →

Written by

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Apr 8, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.

In a nutshell...

  • DUI convictions increase car insurance rates by 40%
  • State Farm and Progressive are the cheapest companies for DUI drivers
  • DUI-convicted drivers may require SR-22 certification

Were you convicted of a DUI or DWI recently? DUIs and DWIs can lead to fines and even jail time. In addition to penalties, your car insurance rates can increase if you have a DUI. 

But how much do your insurance rates go up? Don’t worry — we’ll explain how a DUI affects your car insurance policy. Read this guide to learn how a DUI affects car insurance rates per month and which companies have the most expensive rates for DUI-convicted drivers. 

How much does car insurance cost after a DUI?

After a DUI, the average insurance cost is between $283 and $410 a month. A DUI (also called DWI in some states) raises your car insurance rates by 40% or more at some insurance companies. 

But each auto insurance company is different. Some insurance companies increase your rates by as little as 20%. However, getting cheap car insurance with a DUI on your driving record is challenging. 

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How much does DUI insurance cost at the best companies?

Car insurance for DUI-convicted drivers is $410 per month on average, but your auto insurance rates vary at different companies. Let’s look at an example of how a DUI impacts your monthly car insurance rates. 

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by Clean Driving Record and DUI Conviction
CompaniesMonthly Rates with a Clean Driving RecordMonthly Rates w/ One DUI Conviction
Allstate$318$522
American Family$224$361
Farmers$288$393
GEICO$179$406
Liberty Mutual$398$634
Nationwide$229$379
Progressive$283$331
State Farm$235$303
Travelers$287$478
USAA$161$292
*National Average$260$410
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

USAA car insurance is the cheapest, but USAA isn’t available for every driver. Only veterans (active and retired) and their immediate families can get an insurance policy through USAA. 

The most affordable companies for DUI-convicted drivers are State Farm, Progressive, and American Family. Meanwhile, the most expensive insurance companies are Travelers, Allstate, and Liberty Mutual. 

Is DUI car insurance cost different in each state?

Yes, it is. Some states have cheaper auto insurance rates for a DUI. These could be lower than the average rates in the previous sections. 

Here’s a table that shows the average monthly rates of DUI auto insurance for each state in the U.S.

Comparing Monthly Car Insurance Rates for Clean Driving Records and DUI Convicted Drivers
StatesMonthly Car Insurance Rates with a Clean Driving RecordMonthly Car Insurance Rates w/ a DUI Conviction
Alabama$156$275
Alaska$131$194
Arizona$256$370
Arkansas$172$280
California$151$429
Colorado$260$376
Connecticut$229$463
Delaware$240$369
Florida$269$341
Georgia$199$323
Hawaii$147$471
Idaho$142$236
Illinois$185$282
Indiana$124$212
Iowa$138$222
Kansas$170$248
Kentucky$242$406
Louisiana$296$432
Maine$107$181
Maryland$199$267
Massachusetts$180$305
Michigan$756$2,260
Minnesota$176$312
Mississippi$181$314
Missouri$211$301
Montana$191$296
National Average$198$350
Nebraska$187$247
Nevada$255$408
New Hampshire$168$307
New Jersey$234$374
New Mexico$170$264
New York$231$328
North Carolina$126$502
North Dakota$191$287
Ohio$130$200
Oklahoma$205$283
Oregon$194$302
Pennsylvania$150$202
Rhode Island$299$629
South Carolina$173$272
South Dakota$202$311
Tennessee$156$252
Texas$221$380
Utah$200$306
Vermont$145$223
Virginia$137$211
Washington$146$241
West Virginia$176$316
Wisconsin$130$206
Wyoming$177$289
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

North Carolina, Rhode Island, and Michigan car insurance companies are the most expensive for DUI-convicted drivers. But Maine, Alaska, and Ohio have the most affordable insurance rates for DUI drivers. 

What if you have multiple DUI convictions?

If you have several DUIs on your driving record, you could lose your car insurance coverage. And finding auto insurance could become more challenging. 

[blockquote] Insurance companies can learn about your DUI conviction when you renew or buy a new policy. [/blockquote]

Some insurance companies could deny your request for a car insurance policy. But you can go to your local department of motor vehicles and ask them to help you find an insurance company. However, your car insurance rates could be more expensive than average. 

Do teen drivers pay more after a DUI conviction?

Yes, they do. Young drivers are considered high-risk drivers by car insurance companies. Factoring in a DUI at a young age could dramatically increase car insurance rates. Parents and legal guardians who added teen drivers to their policy will also see rates increase by at least 20%. 

How long does a DUI stay on your driving record?

DUIs and DWIs can stay on your driving record for at least five years. Some states hold DUIs on your driving history for a lifetime. You can even get points against your driver’s license. Let’s see how long a DUI lasts for each state. 

DUI Term Length by State
StatesTime on Your Driving RecordPoints on Your Driver's LicenseTime that Point Stay on Your License
Alabama5 years6 points2 years
AlaskaFor life10 points2 points off every 2 years
Arizona5 years8 points3 years
Arkansas5 years14 points3 years
California10 years2 points13 years
Colorado10 years8 points2 years
Connecticut10 years3 points2 years
Delaware5 yearsAdditional penaltiesN/A
Florida75 yearsAdditional penalties3 years
Georgia10 yearsAdditional penalties2 years
Hawaii5 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
IdahoFor lifeAdditional penalties3 years
IllinoisFor lifeState doesn't have a point systemN/A
IndianaFor life8 points2 years
Iowa12 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
KansasFor lifeState doesn't have a point systemN/A
Kentucky5 yearsAdditional penalties2 years
Louisiana10 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
MaineFor lifeAdditional penalties1 year
Maryland5 years12 points3 years
Massachusetts10 years5 points6 years
Michigan7 years6 points2 years
Minnesota10 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
Mississippi5 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
Missouri10 years8 points1 year, 6 months
Montana5 years10 points3 years
Nebraska12 years6 points2 years
Nevada7 yearsAdditional penalties1 year
New Hampshire10 years6 points3 years
New Jersey10 yearsAdditional penaltiesN/A
New Mexico55 yearsAdditional penalties1 year
New York15 yearsAdditional penalties1.5 years
North Carolina7 yearsAdditional penalties3 years
North Dakota7 yearsAdditional penalties3 years
OhioFor life6 points3 years
Oklahoma10 yearsAdditional penalties3 years
OregonFor lifeState doesn't have a point systemN/A
Pennsylvania10 yearsAdditional penalties3 points off per year
Rhode Island5 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
South Carolina10 yearsAdditional penalties2 years
South Dakota10 years10 pointsVaries
TennesseeFor lifeAdditional penalties2 years
TexasFor life2 points3 years
Utah10 yearsAdditional penalties2 years
VermontFor lifeAdditional penalties2 years
Virginia11 yearsAdditional penalties2 years
Washington15 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
West Virginia10 yearsAdditional penalties2 years
Wisconsin10 years6 points5 years
Wyoming10 yearsState doesn't have a point systemN/A
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Illinois, Kansas, Maine, Ohio, Texas, and several other states keep DUIs on your driving history for life. 

The good news is that you can have convictions sealed after a specific number of years. Also, some insurance companies may give you cheaper insurance rates after you’ve maintained a clean driving record for at least three years. 

Do you need SR-22 after a DUI conviction?

It depends on the state, but you’ll likely receive a demand letter from your local department of motor vehicles stating that you’re required to get SR-22 certification. Ask your insurance company for an SR-22 request if you still have your insurance policy. SR-22 lasts for three years, but you’ll have to reapply for SR-22 if your state still considers you a high-risk driver.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Can you get a discount with a DUI on your driving record?

Yes, you can. A DUI doesn’t disqualify you from getting car insurance discounts. You’ll miss out on defensive and safe driver discounts, but you can save up to 30% if you have good credit. 

Completing a defensive or drunk driving course could also help you save money on your monthly rates. 

DUI Car Insurance: The Bottom Line

Out of all traffic infractions you could get, DUIs and DWIs are the worst. DUI convictions drive up insurance rates by hundreds of dollars. 

If you’re eligible for multiple discounts, you can lower DUI car insurance rates. And if the top insurance companies in your area are too expensive, shop with insurance companies that are used to dealing with high-risk drivers.