Rachael Brennan has been working in the insurance industry since 2006 when she began working as a licensed insurance representative for 21st Century Insurance, during which time she earned her Property and Casualty license in all 50 states. After several years she expanded her insurance expertise, earning her license in Health and AD&D insurance as well. She has worked for small health in...

Full Bio →

Written by

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Apr 14, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one car insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.

In a nutshell...

  • Many companies will refuse to insure a driver with an SR-22 on file
  • If you live in a relatively unpopulated area, your insurance rates will likely be lower than in metropolitan areas such as Phoenix
  • If a driver is not able to produce proof of insurance, the Motor Vehicle Department may suspend the driver’s license

How much is car insurance per month in Arizona? That depends on a variety of factors. However, you can save money by requesting a de-insurance certificate in Arizona if you are not going to be driving your vehicle for a while.

Most states have some sort of car insurance requirements in order to drive a vehicle. The state of Arizona requires all drivers to carry minimum liability insurance on their cars. Most experts believe you should carry higher coverage than just the minimum requirements so that you are covered no matter the circumstance.

Shopping around for the best car insurance in Arizona is the easiest way to get the best deal. For affordable Arizona car insurance rates, Enter your ZIP to get free Arizona car insurance quotes today.

Arizona Car Insurance

How much car insurance do I need in Arizona? Arizona car insurance requirements are pretty low. The AZ MVD (formerly ServiceArizona) shows requirements for minimum liability in Arizona are $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. Arizona also requires $10,000 in property damage coverage to pay for vehicles or other property damaged in a crash.

If you have a de-insurance certificate in Arizona, you don’t have to carry those minimum limits until you are ready to drive your car again. Uninsured motorist accidents do occur in Arizona, and drivers are not required to carry uninsured and underinsured coverage.

However, if you have it, you can seek information about the other driver’s insurance status by applying to the state if you are involved in an accident.

There are many factors affecting auto insurance rates. Some factors like your driving history pertain directly to your insurance rates. Other factors are more indirect.

Watch this video to learn more about what affects your auto insurance rates.

Arizona allows car insurance companies to use your credit score in determining rates. If you have a poor credit history, you can expect to pay more for car insurance in Arizona.

How much is car insurance in Arizona monthly?

What is the average cost of car insurance in Arizona? Is car insurance cheaper in Arizona than the national average? Arizona has high average car insurance rates, at $3,810 per year, or $317 a month. The national average is $1,561 year.

Why is car insurance so expensive in Arizona? One reason listed for Arizona’s high rates is that the state has above-average traffic fatalities. More risk for insurers equals higher rates for drivers.

Each driver is assessed premium rates based on which company is the insurer, the individual’s driving record, and other information such as age, location, and type of vehicle. Your driving record has the biggest impact on your auto insurance rates. Check out this table to see how poor driving habits can really cost you.

Arizona Average Annual Rates by Driving History
CompanyAverage Annual Rates with Clean RecordAverage Annual Rates with 1 AccidentAverage Annual Rates with 1 DUIAverage Annual Rates with 1 Speeding Violation
American Family$2,939.21$4,574.11$5,673.56$3,414.84
State Farm$4,321.08$5,180.16$4,750.62$4,750.62
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

A driver with a clean record can expect to pay around $260 a month. A DUI will cause that rate to skyrocket to $373 a month.

Other factors can make these rates higher, such as if you are a younger driver, you will pay more. For example. how much is car insurance in AZ for a 16-year-old? A young driver can expect to pay $665 a month.

Based on the table above, who has the cheapest car insurance in Arizona? Geico car insurance is the cheapest insurance that is available to everyone. USAA actually comes in first but is only available to the military and family members.

How do I deregister my car in Arizona?

What does de-insured mean?

If you are visiting on a short-term basis, you may apply for a certificate for a de-insured car in Arizona, which allows you to legally park your car, even if you do not have the proper insurance qualifications. You would just need to fill out and submit the ADOT de-insured certificate form 46-0602.

The car will still be legally registered, just not driveable without insurance. However, the de-insured certificate could be issued in conjunction with an AZ non-operational vehicle registration if the car will not be used for a long time.

The de-insured certificate in Arizona is designed mainly for service personnel or others who will be physically located in the state and need to store a car but do not need to drive.

Vehicle reinstatement requires you to show proof that you carry at least the minimum required liability insurance.

Who is liable in a car accident in Arizona?

Arizona operates under the tort liability system of law. This means that in an accident, one driver will be declared liable for the damages, or “at-fault.”

The at-fault driver’s insurance will have to pay for the cost of damages to the victim’s car, and if the liability limits are not enough to cover the damages, then the at-fault driver will be held personally responsible.

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Arizona Proof of Insurance is Required

How much is car insurance in Prescott, Arizona? All drivers in Arizona are required to carry current proof of insurance when driving. If a driver is not able to produce proof of insurance, the Motor Vehicle Department may suspend the driver’s license.

Anyone with a suspended license will be charged a fee for reinstatement and must file an SR-22 form with the state, permanently placing the driver in a “high risk” driving category with the insurance company.

It will not, however, prevent license suspension if you are more than a week late paying your insurance rates. Insurance companies can also demand full payment if you are late on a monthly payment plan.

How much is the fine for no car insurance in Arizona? It’s high — $500 for a first offense

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top car insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Non-Arizona Residents

If you are driving through Arizona but are not a resident, you must also produce proper proof of insurance. Not only must your liability limits meet Arizona’s standards, but the company you use must be licensed to sell policies in Arizona.

You can find competitive car insurance rates by comparing quotes from various companies. Significant companies licensed to do business in Arizona include Allstate, Geico, State Farm, and Progressive.

If you are unsure whether your insurance company is licensed in Arizona, visit the Arizona Department of Insurance’s website and look up your company’s name on their search feature.

If you are moving from out of state, be sure to discuss your policy with your agent to confirm that it meets Arizona’s requirements for liability minimum coverage.

You’re now ready to buy Arizona car insurance. Compare quotes to find cheap car insurance with the best coverage. Enter your ZIP to shop for Arizona car insurance quotes and find which Arizona car insurance company is right for you.